The African National Congress congratulates all its cadres who were sworn-in as permanent delegates to the National Council of Provinces (NCOP)

The ANC also wishes to congratulate the new NCOP Presiding Officers who were all elected unopposed this morning. Cde Amos Masondo has been elected as Chairperson of the NCOP, Cde Sylvia Lucas as Deputy Chairperson and Cde Seiso Mohai as Chief Whip.
The ANC has confidence that these cadres will discharge their mandate with commitment and competence.

As the other House of Parliament, the NCOP plays a distinct Constitutional role in ensuring that provincial interests are taken into account in the national sphere of government.
We are therefore confident that all our ANC provincial delegates to the NCOP will effectively ensure that they carry out their representative, legislative and oversight functions in the interest of the provinces they represent and the people of South Africa as a whole.
The people of our country expect both Houses of Parliament to be seized with issues that concern their daily lives.
The ANC is confident that all its deployees in the NCOP will do everything in their power to ensure that this institution becomes an effective tool that advances the aspirations of our people.

The ANC looks forward to robust debates and calls on all public representatives across political lines to, all times, uphold and respect the decorum of the house.


Pule Mabe
National Spokesperson
071 623 4975

Posted in Media Statements
Join the ANC
Animated Social Media Icons by Acurax Responsive Web Designing Company
Talk to Us Now
close slider

    I am not a robot 45 − 43 =

    Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Instagram