National Executive Committee

Powers of the National Executive Committee

The National Executive Committee is the highest organ of the ANC between National Conferences and has the authority to lead the organisation, subject to the provisions of this Constitution.

Without prejudice to the generality of its powers, the NEC shall:

Carry out the decisions and instructions of the National Conference and the National General Council.

Issue and send directives and in-structions to and receive reports from the provinces.

Supervise and direct the work of the ANC and all its organs, including national, provincial and local government caucuses.

Ensure that the provincial, regional and branch structures of the ANC function democratically and effectively. The NEC may suspend or dissolve a PEC where necessary. A suspension of a PEC shall not exceed a period of three months. Elections for a PEC, which has been dissolved, shall be called within nine months from dissolution. The National Executive Committee may appoint an interim structure during the period of suspension or the dissolution of the PEC to fulfill the functions of the PEC.

Oversee the work of the Veterans League, Women`s League and the Youth League.

Establish departments and set up committees, as it considers appropriate.

Manage and control all the national and international property and assets of the ANC.

Receive reports, supervise the work of, and delegate such functions to the NWC, as it considers necessary.

Issue documents and other policy directives as and when it deems fit.

Confer such honors, as it may deem appropriate.

Appoint annually a National List Com-mittee of not fewer than five and not more than nine persons for the selection and adoption of candidates for the national Parliament. The NEC shall draw up regulations for the procedures to be followed in such a selection. The National List Committee shall report to the NEC prior to the implementation of its recommendations. Provincial structures for the adoption of candidates shall report to the National List Committee.

The NEC may convene a Policy Conference, as a recommendation-making body on any matter of policy, whenever it deems necessary, but the NEC must convene a National Policy Conference at least six (6) months before the National Conference to review policies of the ANC and to recommend any new or to amend any present policy for consideration by the National Conference.

Composition of the NEC

The National Executive Committee, as a whole, shall not consist of less than fifty percent (50%) of women. The NEC, except where otherwise stipulated, shall be elected by secret ballot by the National Conference and shall hold office for five years and shall be constituted as follows:

The President, Deputy President, National Chairperson, the Secretary General, Deputy Secretary General and the Treasurer General who will be elected separately by the National Conference.

Eighty (80) additional members of the NEC.

The Chairperson and the Secretary of each elected ANC Provincial Executive Committee who shall be ex-officio members of the NEC.

The President and Secretary General of the ANC Women`s League who shall be ex-officio members of the NEC.

The President and Secretary General of the ANC Youth League who shall be ex-officio members of the NEC.

The President and Secretary General of the ANC Veterans League who shall be ex-officio members of the NEC.

The NEC may co-opt not more than five (5) additional members at any time during its term of office in order to provide for a balanced representation that reflects the true character of the South African people.

Should a vacancy occur on the NEC for any reason, the NEC shall have the power to fill the vacancy by appointing a replacement.

The quorum for meetings of the NEC shall be 50%+1 of its total membership.

A person must be a paid-up member of the ANC for at least five years before she or he can be nominated to the National Executive Committee of the ANC.

The current National Executive Committee as elected at the 53rd National Conference in Mangaung December 2012 is:


1. Zuma, Jacob
2. Cyril, Ramaphosa
3. Mbete, Baleka
4. Gwede, Mantashe
5. Jessie, Duarte
6. Zweli, Mkhize

Additional Members

7. Bapela, Obed
8. Bhengu, Nozabelo Ruth
9. Brown, Lynne
10. Capa-Langa, Zoleka Rosemary
11. Cele, Bhekokwakhe Hamilton (Bheki)
12. Chabane, Collins
13. Cwele, Siyabonga C
14. Davies, Rob
15. Didiza, Thoko
16. Dlamini-Zuma, Nkosazana Clarice
17. Dlamini, Bathabile Olive
18. Dlamini, Sidumo Mbongeni
19. Dlodlo, Ayanda
20. Dlulane, Beauty N
21. Ebrahim, Ebrahim
22. Gcabashe, Lungi
23. Gigaba, Malusi
24. Godongwana, Enoch
25. Gordhan, Pravin
26. Hanekom, Derek
27. Joemat-Petterson, Tina
28. Jordan, Zweledinga Pallo
29. Kodwa, Zizi
30. Letsatsi-Duba, Dipuo
31. Mabe, Pule
32. Mabe, Sisi
33. Mabhudafhasi, Rejoice
34. Mafu, Nocawe
35. Magadzi, Dikeledi
36. Mahlobo, David
37. Majola, Fikile (Slovo)
38. Mandela, Nomzamo Winfred (Winnie)
39. Manganye, Jane
40. Maphatsoe, Kebby
41. Mapisa-Nqakula, Nosiviwe
42. Mapulane, Philly
43. Masetlha, Billy Lesedi
44. Mashamba, Joyce
45. Mashinini, Sam
46. Mboweni, Tito
47. Mfeketo, Nomaindia
48. Mmemezi, Humphrey M Z
49. Mokonyane, Nomvula Paula
50. Mokoto, Pinky
51. Molewa, Ednah
52. Moloi- Moropa, Joyce C
53. Moloi, Pinky
54. Motshekga, Angie
55. Motsoaledi, Aaron
56. Mthembi-Mahanyele, Sankie Dolly
57. Mthembu, Jackson
58. Mthethwa, Nathi
59. Mtintso, Thenjiwe
60. Ndebele, Joel Sibusiso
61. Netshitenzhe, Joel
62. Nkoana-Mashabane, Maite
63. Nkwinti, Gugile
64. Ntombela, Sefora Hixsonia (Sisi)
65. Ntwanambi, Nosipho Dorothy
66. Nxesi, Thulas
67. Nzimande, Blade
68. Oliphant, Mildred N
69. Pandor, Naledi
70. Phaahla, Joe
71. Radebe, Jeff
72. Ramatlhodi, Ngoako Abel
73. Segabutla, Miriam
74. Semenya, Machwene Rosinah
75. Shabangu, Susan
76. Sisulu, Lindiwe
77. Sisulu, Max Vuyisile
78. Sizani, Stone
79. Skwatsha, Mcebisi
80. Tolashe, Sisisi
81. Tshwete, Pam
82. van der Merwe, Sue
83. Xasa, Fikile D
84. Yengeni, Tony Sithembiso
85. Zokwana, Senzeni
86. Zulu, Lindiwe

Ex-Officio Members

82. Block, John
83. Masualle, Phumulo
84. Mabuyane, Oscar
85. Mabuza, David
86. Mashatile Paul
87. Mahumapelo, Supra
88. Makhura David
89. Mathale, Cassel
90. Zikalala, Sihle
91. Ndinisa, Lucky
92. Mataboge, Kabelo
93. Lekganyane, Soviet
94. Saul, Zamani
96. Khumalo, Natso
97. Sejake, Sandi
98. Ntate, Makgwe
99. Fransman, Marius
100. Songezo, Mjongile

Join the ANCconstitution of the ANCLocal Governance Manifesto 2016
Social Network Widget by Acurax Small Business Website Designers
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Twitter