The African National Congress (ANC) in the Eastern Cape held a Special Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) Meeting on Monday, 7th March 2022.

The Special PEC Meeting was convened to affirm a report from the National Working Committee (NWC) to dissolve the PEC and appoint a Provincial Task Team (PTT). The NEC was represented by NEC Convener of Deployees in the Province, Comrade Aaron Motsoaledi, NEC members, Comrade Nomvula Mokonyane and Comrade Faith Muthambi.

In terms of the ANC Constitution, Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) hold office for four years. The current PEC of the ANC Eastern Cape Province was elected on 29 September – 1 October 2017.

The Provincial Task Team will fulfill the functions of the PEC and will be responsible, amongst others, for ensuring that Provincial Conference is held to elect a Provincial Executive Committee (PEC).

The NWC appointed a PTT with a total of 31 members, composed of 15 males and 16 females, in line with the ANC policy on gender representation.

The following members have been appointed to serve on the Provincial Task Team (PTT) :

1.Cde Lubabalo Oscar Mabuyane (Convener)

2.Cde Lulama Ngcukayitobi (Coordinator)

3.Cde Mlungisi Mvoko

4.Cde Helen Sauls-August

5.Cde Babalo Madikizela

6.Cde Nomakhosazana Meth

7.Cde Loyiso Magqashela

8.Cde Stella Ndabeni Abrahams

9.Cde Weziwe Tikana Gxothiwe

10.Cde Bukiwe Fanta

11.Cde Xolile Nqatha

12.Cde Fundile Blacks Gade

13.Cde Thokozile Sokanyile

14.Cde Lindelwa Dunjwa

15.Cde Zukiswa Ncita

16.Cde Virginia Camelio Benjamin

17.Cde Sisisi Tolashe

18.Cde Momelezi Mbedla

19.Cde Sindiswa Gomba

20.Cde Thabo Matiwane

21.Cde Mziwonke Ndabeni

22.Cde Nonceba Kontsiwe

23.Cde Siphokazi Mani Lusithi

24.Cde Nozibele Nyalambisa

25.Cde Xolani Malamlela

26.Cde Zinzi Rabe

27.Cde William Ngozi

28.Cde Ntombizanele Koni

29.Cde Fikile Desi

30.Cde Mncedisi Nontsele

31.Cde Zandisile Qupe

The PTT will continue to foster unity and renewal of the organisation as resolved by ANC’s 54th National Conference. It will also marshal all the provincial structures towards maintaining a respectful appreciation of organisational discipline, democratic centralism and adhering to the due processes as per our Constitutional provisions.

Roadmap to Regional Conferences and 9th Provincial Conference:

PTT noted and welcomed the report on preparations for the Regional Conferences (Sarah Baartman, Chris Hani & Dr WB Rubusana Region).

In this regard, Regional Conferences and 9th Provincial Conference are scheduled as follows :

  1. Chris Hani Region :1st-3rd April 2022 2.Sarah Baartman Region :8th-9th April 2022 3.Dr WB Rubusana Region: 8th – 9th April 2022 4.9th Provincial Conference – 22nd – 24th April 2022

The PTT condemned in the strongest possible words the violent behavior in some of the branches meant to nominate candidates and delegates for the upcoming conferences and likened this trend to the counter -revolution meant only to destabilize the ANC from within and render the revolution useless. The ANC Constitution protects and defends the rights of members to participate freely in all its organizational processes , including affirming their own views on leadership without fear or favour .

PTT strongly appeals to all those in leadership positions at all levels of the organization to abide by the spirit of the ANC Constitution, in how they oversee and run organisational processes, and give ANC members the space to be heard and raise their grievances and complaints.

The leadership of the province remains firmly committed in convening a constitutional and democratic Provincial Conference which will be inclusive of all ANC eligible structures, free of prejudice.



Cde Loyiso Magqashela
ANC Provincial Spokesperson
Mobile No :??0823059611?/?0762479845?

Cde Gift Ngqondi
Provincial Head of Communications
Mobile No: ??0849519924?/??0848439706?

Posted in Media Statements
Join the ANC
Customized Social Media Icons from Acurax Digital Marketing Agency
Talk to Us Now
close slider

    I am not a robot − 3 = 3

    Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Instagram