Annual Caucus Lekgotla

24 July 2014

The African National Congress in Parliament will hold its first annual
Caucus Lekgotla in the current term of Parliament from 25 to 27 July
2014. All ANC MPs deployed in both Houses of Parliament, 249 in the
National Assembly and 33 in the National Council of Provinces, including
Ministers and Deputy Ministers, are expected to attend this crucial
three-day Lekgotla.

The Lekgotla will amongst others be addressed by President Jacob Zuma,
Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa and ANC Secretary General Gwede
Discussions at the Lekgotla will be informed chiefly by the National
Conference resolutions, the election manifesto commitments and the
National Development Plan and the role of Parliament in ensuring their

The meeting will therefore emerge with a five-year programme of action
aimed at ensuring that Parliament, through robust and fearless
oversight, plays a meaningful role in the realisation of our key
commitments around economy and jobs; rural development, land reform and
food security; human settlements and basic services; education and
training; health; and fighting corruption and crime.

All Lekgotla sessions are closed but the outcomes of the discussion will
be communicated to the public at a media briefing whose details will be
communicated during the weekend.

Members of the media are invited to a photo opportunity at the start of
the Lekgotla on Friday, 25 July, at 15h00 – Old Assembly Chamber.


Moloto Mothapo 082 370 6930

Posted in ANC News, Media Statements
Join the ANC
Social Network Integration by Acurax Social Media Branding Company
Talk to Us Now
close slider

    I am not a robot 55 − 54 =

    Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On Instagram